Pianist Yefim Bronfman Joins The HSO In the Rach 3

It is that time once again this weekend [Saturday, Jan. 14] when my wife, Sheralyn, and I trek to Jones Hall in downtown Houston Texas to hear our world class Houston Symphony Orchestra in another great concert program.

On this concert we will see [and hear] once again the great virtuoso Israeli-American pianist, Yefim Bronfman, joining our Houston Symphony Orchestra in Rachmaninoff’s legendary Piano Concerto #3 in D minor. HSO’s dynamic director/conductor, Juraj Valcuha will lead our wonderful orchestra. Sheralyn and I have been blessed to see Mr. Bronfman before in Jones Hall. His virtuosity of the keyboard is displayed with amazing ease. We can’t wait to see and hear him in one of our favorite piano concertos, the “Rach 3”.

From the HSO website: “Prepare for an extraordinary concert experience when world-renowned virtuoso Yefim Bronfman tackles Rachmaninoff’s lush and legendary Piano Concerto No. 3—one of classical music’s most well-known and beloved masterpieces! And, Music Director Juraj Valčuha leads the orchestra in Bartók’s fearlessly provocative Miraculous Mandarin, part of a two-week spotlight on music that caused an uproar.”

Rachmaninoff scored his ultra virtuosic 3rd piano concerto in the key of D minor with three movements: 1. Allegro ma non tanto; 2. Adagio; and 3. Alla Breve.

As usual whenever the fetching Mrs. B and I go to a Houston Symphony Orchestra concert, I like to share a little of what we will be hearing on Saturday night. So, please turn up the volume and enjoy

Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto #3 in D minor:

Welcome, once again, to Houston Mr. Yefim Bronfman! I hope you enjoy your stay!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s