Mozart’s Pensive Adagio

One of my favorite movements from Mozart’s piano concerti is the adagio movement from his 23rd piano concerto. The second movement of this Mozart concerto, while somewhat sad and thoughtful, is nevertheless very peaceful and beautiful.

W.A. Mozart [1756 – 1791]

This concerto is in A Major, a key which usually foretells a bright happy mood…and that is true for the first and third movements which are in A Major. But the Adagio movement is in a minor key, F Sharp minor, which often portrays a more somber, pensive mood.

You might find this unusual, that a piece marked in one key has one of the movements in another key but when a piece is marked in a certain key that usually means it begins in that key and almost always will end in that key. In between though, the key sometimes changes.  

Please turn up the volume and enjoy some pensive Mozart on hopefully this peaceful day!

W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto # 23 in A Major, Movement 2, Adagio:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s