Dmitri Shostakovich, born September 25, 1906 in St. Petersburg, Russia, was one of the great post Romantic 20th century composers. He died in Moscow on August 9, 1975.

From Classicat web site: “Shostakovich achieved fame in the Soviet Union under the patronage of Leon Trotsky’s chief of staff Mikhail Tukhachevsky, but later had a complex and difficult relationship with the Stalinist bureaucracy. His music was officially denounced twice, in 1936 and 1948, and was periodically banned. Yet he also received accolades and state awards and served in the Supreme Soviet of the RSFSR. Despite the official controversy, his works were popular and well received.

Shostakovich had the unique ability to please the brutal Soviet regime by pretending to compose music they would like, while secretly putting hints in his music of solidarity to the oppressed people of the Soviet Union; so both the elites and the people of the Soviet Union could love a work of Dmitri Shostakovich, both sides thinking the music was meant for them.


Shostakovich’s orchestral works include 15 symphonies and six concerti. His music for chamber ensembles includes 15 string quartets, a piano quintet, two pieces for a string octet, and two piano trios. For the piano he composed two solo sonatas, an early set of preludes, and a later set of 24 preludes and fugues. Other works include two operas, and a substantial quantity of film music.”

The Russian composer, Shostakovich, composed his 5th symphony, maybe his most popular, in 1937.  It was very well received at its debut, and still is beloved by concert goers today.  This dramatic, at times tense, at times peaceful, at times haunting, symphony in D minor was scored with the usual four movements:1. Moderato – Allegro non troppo;  2. Allegretto;  3. Largo; and the exciting 4th movement, Allegro non troppo.  

Please turn up the volume and listen to one of my favorite symphonies, Shostakovich Symphony #5 in d-minor:

Shostakovich String Quartet #3 was scored in F Major with 5 movements: 1. Allegretto, 2. Moderato con moto, 3. allegro non troppo, 4. Adagio, and 5. Moderato. Please, once again turn up the volume to enjoy ‘the Jeruslaem Quartet” performing, Shostakovich String Quartet #3 in F Major:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s