Schubert’s Fish Out of Water

What were you doing at age 22.   If you were Franz Schubert you would have been composing one of the most well known chamber pieces ever.  Schubert’s piano quintet, known as the “trout” [for the theme in the 4th movement of the piece], is one of this Austrian composer’s most beloved pieces.

This fish may be out of water, but it certainly seems right in place in the chamber.

Franz Schubert [Jan. 31, 1797 – Nov. 19, 1828]

Schubert’s “trout” quintet for piano, violin, viola, cello and double bass, is scored in A Major and it has five movements: 1. Allegro Vivace; 2. Andante; 3. Scherzo [Presto]; 4. Andantino – Allegretto; and 5. Allegro Giusto.

All five movements of this chamber piece are great examples of Schubert’s melodic style and that is why this is one of my favorite chamber music pieces.  

So, please turn up the volume, play in full screen, then sit back and enjoy some Franz Schubert melodic magic.

Franz Schubert: Piano Quintet in A Major, “The Trout”:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s