This HSO Melodic Concert Program

This weekend, the world class Houston Symphony Orchestra’s concert program can be described with two words: beautiful and melodic.

My wife, Sheralyn and I will be blessed to be going Saturday night, March 12, to Jones Hall in downtown Houston to hear our wonderful HSO, with guest French conductor, Maestro Lionel Bringuier, leading our great orchestra. What a great program it will be, featuring Smetana’s “The Moldau” from Ma Vlast; and Rachmaninoff’s Symphony #2.

This from the Houston Symphony Orchestra website: “Rachmaninoff’s rapturous and romantic Symphony No. 2 unfurls a never-ending cascade of lush, opulent melodies, each one bound to speak directly to the heart. Plus, immerse yourself in Tōru Takemitsu’s beautiful and mesmerizing homage to the ocean, Toward the Sea, featuring the Symphony’s Megan Conley, harp, and Matthew Roitstein, flute. Rising young French conductor Lionel Bringuier leads these performances, which open with Smetana’s ever-popular ‘The Moldau’.”

The Adagio third movement of Rachmaninoff’s 2nd Symphony and Smetana’s Moldau are breathtakingly beautiful.

Rachmaninoff’s 2nd Symphony is scored in E minor with four movements: 1. Largo – Allegro Moderato; 2. Allegro Molto; 3. Adagio; and 3. Allegro Vivace.

As usual, whenever the fetching Mrs B and I go to a Houston Symphony Orchestra concert, I like to share some of the music we will be enjoying. So, please turn up the volume, play in full screen and enjoy these two melodic pieces from Smetana and Rachmaninoff.

Bedrich Smetana: “The Moldau” from Ma Vlast:

Sergei Rachmaninoff: Symphony #2 in E Minor:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s